Monday, April 6, 2009

Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco 2009 Stage 1

The Vuelta Ciclista al País Vasco is a cycling stage race held in the Basque Country, a cultural region shared between France and Spain, at the same time the classics are happening in northern Europe, giving riders (mainly climbers) an alternative to the cobbles and cold weather.

Known as the Tour of the Basque Country in English and Euskal Herriko Txirrindulari Itzulia in Basque, the six-day race was first held in 1935, while the modern version of the race took place for the first time in 1969. The race is now organised by the leading Basque newspaper Diario Vasco which holds a UCI ProTour licence through to 2012. This year's event runs from Monday, April 6th through Saturday, April 11th.

General Classification after Stage 1

1 Luis León Sánchez Gil (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne 3.28.43
2 Samuel Sánchez (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi
3 Jérôme Pineau (Fra) Quick Step
4 Christian Knees (Ger) Team Milram
5 Alexandr Kolobnev (Rus) Team Saxo Bank
6 Joaquín Rodríguez (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne
7 Michael Rogers (Aus) Team Columbia - Highroad
8 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas
9 Dries Devenyns (Bel) Quick Step
10 Cadel Evans (Aus) Silence-Lotto