Sunday, June 17, 2007

Bennett Grabs Gold in Des Moines

Local favourite Laura Bennett of the United States has just won the 2007 Des Moines BG Triathlon World Cup, taking home a record US$200,000 in prize money and another US$60,000 plus in prizes, including a new car. Bennett finished with a time of 2 hours 4 minutes and 32 seconds. Former world cup champion Annabel Luxford of Australia managed to hold on to second place 14 seconds back. Mariana Ohata of Brazil finished third a further 43 seconds back, climbing back from a two minute deficit after the bike.

The record-breaking prize purse was thanks to the dedicated work of presenting sponsor, American grocer Hy-Vee.

A 1:30pm start time met the 42 Elite women with 34 degree Celsius temperatures and 54% humidity under clear skies. By the end of the day’s racing only 26 women would cross the finish line, many succumbing to the hot and treacherous conditions.

Bennett would join a small break-away early on the bike, gaining a 2 minute and 46 second lead by the end of the 42-kilometre, challenging bike course. This lead group of eight women contained many of the top cyclists in the sport such as; Bennett, Luxford, Jessica Harrison of France, Kirsten Sweetland of Canada and another four Americans, Sarah Haskins, Sara McLarty, Julie Swail and Joanna Zeiger.

This group worked flawlessly over the 6-lap, hilly and windy bike course building an insurmountable lead over many of the sports top contenders including; the Aussie contingent of current world champion Emma Snowsill of Australia, world number two ranked Erin Densham and world bronze medalist Felicity Abram; the strong Kiwi duo of Debbie Tanner and Samantha Warriner; as well as the Great Britain team of Michelle Dillon and Andrea Whitcombe.

Early into the 10-kilometre run, many race favourites began to drop like flies. First was Joelle Franzmann of Germany, next would be Densham, then Snowsill, Di Marco Messmer, Zeiger and Lauren Groves of Canada. Current world Junior champion, Sweetland would run with Bennett and Luxford for the first nine kilometres before running out of gas, collapsing to the ground with only one kilometre to go. This would enable a fast approaching Ohata to run her way from the chase group and onto the podium. Ohata’s run split was the fastest on the day by almost 2 minutes.

Rounding out the top five was Sarah Haskins of the United States and Andrea Whitcombe of Great Britain.

2007 Des Moines BG Triathlon World Cup – Elite Women results
1. BENNETT, Laura (USA) 2:04:32
2. LUXFORD, Annabel (AUS) 2:04:46 +:14
3. OHATA, Mariana (BRA) 2:05:29 +:57
4. HASKINS, Sarah (USA) 2:05:47 +1:15
5. WHITCOMBE, Andrea (GBR)2:05:51 +1:19
6. HARRISON, Jessica (FRA) 2:05:55 +1:23
7. NIWATA, Kiyomi (JPN) 2:06:13 +1:41
8. MOFFATT, Emma (AUS) 2:06:26 +1:54
9. TANNER, Debbie (NZL) 2:06:48 +2:16
10. DILLON, Michelle (GBR) 2:07:22 +2:50


tom said...

Play Roulette and Roulette also Casino finest Casinos games Slots U can play Slot experience Slots play Slot most advanced Slots card games Texas Holdem Poker and Poker Online and Online Poker and Poker and Poker world's leading Blackjack and Blackjack selection of Casinos Online sites Casinos Stop searching Online Casinos go Play Casino Online safe & secure Casino Onlinelive 24/7 Casinos sites Online Casino generous deposit bonus Blackjack join the No Deposit Casino most trusted Play Casino real money Casino Online fantastic atmosphere Online Casino feel the buzz of a live Casino Las Vegas Casino Huge jackpots Casino attractive Casinos most professional Casinos o multiplayer Casino quick cash outs Casino play 21 Blackjack all limits Slots largest tournament Casino Online sit-n-go Online Casino bet Casino Free and Play Poker also Holdem Poker and Poker Games and Casino Poker and Online Roulette and Play Roulette and Slot Machine and Free Slots and Black Jack and Black Jack and Online Blackjack also Free Poker & Play Poker Online and Poker Bonus and Casino Games and more

tom said...

I started to use Viagra I tried Cialis. I got in to a pharmacy to Buy Viagra and Buy Cialis, I intended to Buy Cialis or maybe Cheap Viagra I decided to Buy Levitra at Cheap Levitra site. I got to an online pharmacy to Buy Lipitor drug that lowers the cholesterol Hydrocodone medications as Cheap Vicodin and its related Cheap Hydrocodone I will continue Buy Hydrocodone I went to the doctor to Buy Oxycodone I in a online pharmacy to Oxycodone I'll try to Vicodin it cost much less Buy Valium I think it as the same effect as Buy Vicodin it is easy to Buy Hydrocodone I can also Hydrocodone my doctor advise me Vicodin I started a diet, and going to Phentermine and Buy Phentermine I also Buy Acomplia and Buy Vicodin I went in for a physical the doctor told me I can soma and Buy Ultram pain medication Buy Oxycontin is a derivative of opium as Buy Valium I also have sleeping problems I tried Xanax It is better to use online pharmacy to Xanax and Buy Xanax I'll try to Buy Ambien I originally take Ambien, since I used internet to Ambien I recommend some sites Buy Percocet pain reliever as well as Buy Xenical also
Buy Adipex and Buy Zolpidem. also Viagra and Cialis and Levitra and Cialis last Viagra and Buy Viagra and Buy Viagra good health!